Carousel

Carousel

August 22, 2018 Current Show News High School Shows HS/Troupe 6034 Info Shows 0

Carousel is the second musical by the team of Richard Rodgers (music) and Oscar Hammerstein II (book and lyrics). The 1945 work was adapted from Ferenc Molnár‘s 1909 play Liliom, transplanting its Budapest setting to the Maine coastline. The story revolves around carousel barker Billy Bigelow, whose romance with millworker Julie Jordan comes at the price of both their jobs. He participates in a robbery to provide for Julie and their unborn child; after it goes tragically wrong, he is given a chance to make things right. A secondary plot line deals with millworker Carrie Pipperidge and her romance with ambitious fisherman Enoch Snow. The show includes the well-known songs “If I Loved You“, “June Is Bustin’ Out All Over” and “You’ll Never Walk Alone“. Richard Rodgers later wrote that Carousel was his favorite of all his musicals.

 

Thursday February 7 – HS Musical “Carousel” auditions – auditorium

Saturday February 9 – MS Musical rehearsal – 9am – 1pm (air 830 – 4pm)

HS Musical rehearsal – 1pm -4pm

Saturday February 16 – MS Musical rehearsal – 9am-1pm (air 830-4pm)

HS Musical rehearsal 1pm – 4pm

Saturday February 23 – MS musical rehearsal 9 – 1

HS Musical rehearsal  1 – 4

Saturday March 2 – HS School Musical rehearsal     9am – 12 noon

MS School Musical Performance 2pm and 7pm call time 12 noon

Saturday March 16-Tuesday March 19 – NYC Trip

Wednesday March 20 – Saturday March 23 – (Spring Break) Thespian State Festival Assessment, Tampa

Monday March 25 – Thursday March 28 TECH WEEK FOR HS MUSICAL

Friday March 29 and Saturday March 30 – HS Musical “Carousel” 7pm Friday; 2pm and 7pm Saturday

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Categories